The Resource Stallo, Stefan Spjut; Translated by Susan Beard

Stallo, Stefan Spjut; Translated by Susan Beard

Label
Stallo
Title
Stallo
Statement of responsibility
Stefan Spjut; Translated by Susan Beard
Creator
Contributor
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • swe
  • eng
Summary
In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found. The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes.
Biographical or historical data
Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman's Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie.
Cataloging source
UK-WkNB
Dewey number
AF
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Swedish
Literary form
novels
Summary expansion
What if something is out there? This is a haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem's Lot. "I was enthralled form the very first page...the words seems to sparkle on the page." (Karl Ove Knausgaard). In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found. The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary. Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer. When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown..
Target audience
general
Stallo, Stefan Spjut; Translated by Susan Beard
Label
Stallo, Stefan Spjut; Translated by Susan Beard
Publication
Note
Paperback. Trade paperback (UK)
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
9780571296781
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=nlonzsd&isbn=9780571296781&upc=&oclc=%28Sirsi%29%20MH_114861/LC.JPG
Dimensions
23x15x4 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'RANGIORA': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/waimakariri/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'WP_CAP': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/wls/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'RO_ROTORUA': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/rotorua/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'PUKEARIKI': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/np/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'DP_MOSG': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/dunedin/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'WAITARA': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/np/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'SN_DARFLD': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/selwyn/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'UH_CENTRAL': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/upperhutt/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'PN_CENTRAL': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/pn/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'MH_MATA': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/mpdc/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'HA_HAST': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/hastings/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'HU_AMBLEY': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/hurunui/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'HA_HAVE': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/hastings/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'MH_MORRIN': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/mpdc/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'OP_OPOTIKI': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/opotiki/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'DP_WAIK': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/dunedin/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'TI_TEMUKA': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/timaru/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'CQ_CROM': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/cq/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'ELMATURNER': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/nelson/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'WP_MTP': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/wls/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'BLENHEIM': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/marlborough/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada', 'DP_CITY': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/dunedin/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:3873096/ada'}
Edition
Main.
Extent
608 pages
Isbn
9780571296781
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(Sirsi) MH_114861

Library Locations

    • Upper Hutt LibraryBorrow it
      844 Fergusson Drive, Upper Hutt, 5140, NZ
      -41.1259757 175.0685953

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...